Weight Lifting Gear

img_8337_thumbnailHow many of you have ever heard the term, “if you didn’t lift it raw, then you didn’t really lift it.”? For those of you who haven’t I’ll take a minute to explain. A “raw” lift is one that is done without the assistance of any other equipment, i.e. a belt, deadlift suit, wrist straps, etc.…

There seems to be this new thing that it is better to lift without the assistance, or in my opinion, the additional safety of gear that is designed for weight lifting. This frustrates me as it can pose danger to someone who may have a previous injury.

I, for example, have a herniated disc between my L3 & L4 vertebrae. I use a very sturdy leather belt any time that I may arch my back during a lift. This is not to say that you should lift weight that is too heavy for you if you will break form, but it is there to ensure that my core stays tight and allows me to add force by pushing into the belt. Another example is wrist/lifting straps. These are used to assist those with weaker grips or smaller hands. I deadlift 375 pounds, and there is no way that my grip will hang on to the bar at that weight. Besides, I’m doing this lift to work my quads and my glutes, not my hands.

Should you use lighter weights before you put on a belt and try to squad 315lbs? Absolutely. You need to make sure that you know the proper/safest form to use when lifting. However, once you get the form down and develop the muscle memory of the lifts then you should start to utilize extra “accessories” to insure that you are steal being safe while performing the lift.

Lastly, not all weight training is created equal. A $20.00 belt that you pick up at the local super store is not going to provide you with the necessary support that your back needs to perform heavy lifts. I personally get my equipment from a website that specializes in powerlifting gear. Here is the link if you would like to check it out.

Be safe while you work out. Trust me, there is nothing worse than working on you physique for months only to be derailed by an injury. Before I end this I’ll leave you with one other gym saying. “Lift with your muscle. Not with your ego.” I promise if you keep that thought in your head you will be just fine. Additionally, be sure to check with a medical professional before you start a weight training routine, to verify that you don’t have an injury that you could aggravate.

Don’t forget to sign up for our mailing list by clicking the sign up now button to receive exercise and nutrition tips, and be sure to follow me on Instagram and join our Facebook group. Keep working hard and making 2017 your best year yet!!!

 

Author: adamdelgadofitness

I'm just a regular guy who likes to help people achieve their goals. I'm not a professional yet, but I have learned several things about life and fitness through trial and error. I am currently working on my NASM personal trainer certification with a specialization in nutrition. I'll also begin online coaching once I become certified. If you have fitness or nutrition questions don't hesitate to ask. If I don't have the answer I will find one for you.

Leave a Reply

