Wake Up Early

Crazy man, insane, psycho. These are all names that I have been called based on the hours that I keep. On a typical day I am out of bed no later than 3:30 am. While most “normal” people think this is just plain crazy, there is a method to madness and I’m here to explain it. By getting up this early I am effectively adding more hours too my day, which most people complain they don’t have. So,let’s take a look at my typical day.

3:30 am – alarm goes off and I get up. I throw on my gym clothes. Brush my teeth and take my pre-workout.

4:00 am – I get to the gym and at most there are three other people there. This allows me to move through my workout without having to wait for equipment or benches.

5:30 am – Get home and take my post workout. I start the coffee. Shave and shower and get my uniform on.

6:00 am – Make my breakfast, pack my lunch, have some coffee and watch a show on Netflix.

6:30 am – Off to work

7:00 am – 3:30 pm – Work

4:00 pm – Get home and get on the laptop to work on my own goals

5:30 pm – Eat dinner

6:00 pm – Prep lunch for tomorrow and clean up

7:00 pm – Back on the laptop to do more work. Check Facebook and Instagram. Maybe write a blog post and watch some TV or just hang out.

8:00 pm – Put the kids to bed and back on the laptop

8:30 – 9:00 pm – Off to bed

So that is a typical 17 hour day for me. Seems easy right? This didn’t happen overnight for me and took a lot of work to get to this point. Some people that I have talked to say that they can’t go to sleep that early. The main complaint that they have is that they just can’t fall asleep. While some people do suffer from insomnia, that is not the case for most. We are usually laying there staring at the ceiling thinking about what we did during the day or what we have to do tomorrow or what we are doing with our lives. One way to combat this is to let it all go while you are relaxing at the end of the day. Go over what you need to do or what you did during the day. If that doesn’t work for you then get a journal and write your thoughts or plans in it. Just get them out of your brain. Some other tips include not turning on the TV in your room and try to keep it cold. It is scientifically proven that we sleep better when we are cool.

This is the main jumping off point. Another way to insure that you succeed at this is to ignore the snooze button. When your alarm goes off get up. Those extra few minutes are not helping you at all. Sit up and put your feet on the floor. Once you are up you’re not going to go back to sleep. I know this seems like a lot, but it really is worth it. You will get more accomplished during the day and you will be ready for a restful night at the end of it. It does get easier too if you have a good diet and are exercising. These two things alone will help you sleep better.

Alright, it’s 8:48 pm right now and 3:30 am comes early 😉 I’m no sleep expert, but if you need help or advice with nutrition or fitness shoot me an email and I’ll be happy to help where I can. Do something different and keep making 2017 your best year yet. Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram and join Facebook group Adam Delgado Fitness.

– Adam

Author: adamdelgadofitness

I'm just a regular guy who likes to help people achieve their goals. I'm not a professional yet, but I have learned several things about life and fitness through trial and error. I am currently working on my NASM personal trainer certification with a specialization in nutrition. I'll also begin online coaching once I become certified. If you have fitness or nutrition questions don't hesitate to ask. If I don't have the answer I will find one for you.

Leave a Reply

