Personal Transformation

img_1098These before and after pictures or from May 2016 – December 2016. Even though my transformation had started August 2015, I lost focus a year later and while I wasn’t as bad as I was before I still had to transform myself again.

The scariest part of any transformation or life change is the fear of failure. When I began my physical transformation in August of 2015 I didn’t take a single picture of what I looked like. Aside from being embarrassed, I had tried this before and failed and had those pictures to remind me of the failures. I was already setting myself up for failure in thinking that I had tried this once and this time it would just end the same. This type of defeatist attitude was only counterproductive. I was able to start with good momentum regardless. I was meal prepping on the weekend, I was going to the gym (which was terrifying), and was following a workout routine. Regardless of all of that though, the thought of failure was always lingering over me. It was gnawing at me, it continued to tell me that I was only going to fail again, that I wasn’t good enough and that I should just give up.

I know this isn’t the way that most would start an article like this, but I ‘ve never been one to follow the norms. Most would post how they hit the ground running and never looked back, that they felt great and saw instant change in every aspect of their lives. While some of that is true for some people, in my experience, it is very rare. Most people deal with the same anxiety and doubt that I felt. The first week is painful. It is full of fear of going to the gym and “not fitting in”, it is the DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness), it’s the monotony of grilled chicken and steamed vegetables, and the drastic change to your daily life.

Now that I’ve gotten the negatives out of the way let’s look at the positives. When your body transforms, it can transform your life. It is a great feeling when in you start seeing results. Your clothes fit better, you have more energy and people start to tell you that you look great. You are lowering the risks of heart disease, stroke, and certain cancers. You are reversing the clock on aging. Give me a day and I’ll show you achievement, a month and I’ll show you results, give me 3 months and I’ll change your life. I will never tell you that this is going to be easy. It takes hard work, discipline and determination. There are going to be days that you don’t want to go to the gym, but you must fight that and go. There will be days that you want to cheat on your diet, but you have to stay committed. This is your life and it is worth fighting for. Don’t wait another day to start. Find a plan and get committed because nobody else can want this but you.

On a final note, this is not something that you can do for a few months and stop. This is transforming your life and leaving the old you behind. Don’t make the mistakes that I made. Take before pictures and don’t doubt your abilities. Stick to the plan and it will work. Keep making 2017 your best year ever!!

If you have questions about how to start shoot me an email or you can find me on Instagram, by clicking the link, or on my Facebook group (Adam Delgado Fitness).

Author: adamdelgadofitness

I'm just a regular guy who likes to help people achieve their goals. I'm not a professional yet, but I have learned several things about life and fitness through trial and error. I am currently working on my NASM personal trainer certification with a specialization in nutrition. I'll also begin online coaching once I become certified. If you have fitness or nutrition questions don't hesitate to ask. If I don't have the answer I will find one for you.

1 thought on “Personal Transformation”

  1. Congratulations on your transformation! And I like how you pointed out the embarrassment of taking a “before” picture because it’s something I understand. Though I exercise now, I still need to get over my own fears.

    Like

Leave a Reply

